Happy Commuter!

MCX

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jan 13, 2015
Ahoy one and all.
I had been frequenting this forum for a few months prior to purchasing my new wheels (and registering) and have found it to be a great resource - Many thank you's to everyone who (unknowingly!) contributed to help me make my decision.

So as a complete non cyclist, I recently found myself in a position where I could cycle to work, a total of around 5 and a half miles each way. The only issue is that the my house is at the bottom of a rather large (to me) 750ft hill and work is a the top.

This is where this forum comes in!
So after researching E bikes thouroughly, I concluded that this could indeed be a viable method of transport.
One thing was for certain-there was not a hope in hell I could (or would want to) tackle that hill everyday on a standard bike as I certainly did not fancy arriving to work in a pool of sweat/vomit/etc.

So I found myself with 2 options to navigate this route. The road way is a category 3 hill climb and was used on a stage of the tour of Britain (https://www.strava.com/segments/689005) the other essentialy just under a mile of 10% incline on rocky path followed by some off road which includes some sections of graded (red/blue) purpose built MTB trails.

Well after much deliberation I chose the lycra free path and decided on the off road option and after trailing a few bikes from the excellent crew at Bikemotion in Exeter I decided on a model: a Haibike Nduro RX26.

Wow. What a transformation this has been to my life. I actually enjoy cycling on this thing and (fingers crossed) it saves me some money (in the long run of course) and gets me fitter.