Help me buy an ebike

Mahi

Finding my (electric) wheels
Oct 30, 2023
I am new to ebike, and to be frank, I didn't cycle much after my childhood. Having moved to a new town full of steep hills, I am thinking of buying an ebike but in budget as I may not use it for a longer time.

Does Apollo metis work better on hills? Halfords says it does, but what is everyone's opinion here? Or is there any other better one you would suggest in <800£?

Thanks in advance.

Az.

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 27, 2022
Plymouth
Apollo is associated with very low budget and poor quality bikes.
Check Eleglide, maybe you can find something interesting

Reactions: Saracen and Mahi

Peter.Bridge

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 19, 2023
What town ? can you give an example of a hill that you want to be able to cycle up ? How heavy are you ? (Determines how powerful the bike needs to be )

thelarkbox

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 23, 2023
oxon
With your budget your limited to the bottom end of the new ebike market or perhaps 2nd hand or even conversion kits buying a bargain 2nd hand bike for the upgrade. the best vfm and probably result would be from converting a suitable donor bike imho as your able to select a kit with the best motor/battery combo for your needs. and fit to a bike also fitted to your needs.

2 key features to look for in a possible donor for ebike conversion are Disk brakes and some form of suspension, as with the capacity to ride at a constant 15mph many roads are a bumpy ride at this speed and at 15mph you still want to stop rapidly when needed..

dont dismiss the bottom end of the new market ebay/amazon special offers can sometimes offer real bargains.. if one takes your fancy post a link here for comment.. the problem is when you pay less and the seller still makes a profit that profit generally comes from 2nd rate components and with ebikes this means a less than optimal battery all too often..