Help us build a better Ebike battery

lnunell

Pedelecer
Jan 24, 2017
UK
Hi all,

I am new to the ebike scene, but my company has started to develop an Ebike battery that can be fully charged in under 15 minutes and will be charged safer than traditional charging (our IP). We are looking to have this tech mainly sold to bike hire schemes (boris bikes) that will be used significantly but we see a market to sell to consumers also. We already have our technology in industrial applications and in single cell products but we are now pushing our technology towards Ebikes..

This is not a advertisement or marketing effort so we will not be saying what business we work for; but we are looking for current owners of ebikes to help us out with what really matters to you as owners. We are about 6 months away from full working 150 and 300Wh battery packs that can charge to 100% in under 15 minutes, below are the specification we are looking to achieving.

• 48 volt
  • 32 cells in the pack with 2 in Parallel and 16 in series layout.
  • The pack will be approximately 60% of the weight of the lead acid cells, saving weight.
  • 15 minute charging to 100%
  • 150 & 300Wh Pack
  • 1500-2000 cycles (0-100% DOD)
  • Total weight = 3Kg.
  • Estimated range: 31 Mile (pedal assist).
We estimate that we will be able to retail the battery packs price wise to both Shimano and Bosch, we also know that our packs will last longer and be more durable. So 15 minute charging and longer life are the pros, but we will be seeing a slightly heavier pack and a larger charger to be able to power this kit.

Can you let me know what you would expect from this kit? What you miss on the current ebike batteries and motors? Desired features? What you think of the specs we have put above, and do you even care about 15 minute charging?

We want to really push the design and development to be ready this year but we feel contributions from the community will be a great addition to creating a great product.