Hi Folks its me.

jollyjimbo

Just Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Paisley
Hey Girls and Guys.

This is my first time in ages on a forum of any kind. Been looking thru some of the posts and its a good place here.

Too many deep fried mars bars and tins of special bru have taken there toll on me. You know what us scottish folks are.

I want to upgrade my old giant mbt to a e-bike. I have let myself go over the years(48 now) to a nice 25 stone. I can still ride my bike. Be it slowly and not very far as i have dodgy knees and a lack of stamina. Mostly the second bit. There are a couple of canals nearby i like to ride. Nice and safe for everyone. I miss so much being able to go runs and a know when i do get the kit i will be out more often. I have a pal who bought kit and built his own battery and he gave me a good link. Tried to get a hold of the site by email to get some advice but no joy yet.

https://pedalease.co.uk/index.php?rt=product/product&product_id=13172335

I dont want a lot of stress on the rear wheel with the added weight of me and the motor and potentially a battery on the rear carrier.
But also the worry of having a powerful motor on the front that could knacker my front forks.

Could go down the avenue of a smaller system but would it be enough to pull me, I am looking for pedal assist. A full throttle would be nice but that defeats the purpose of my e-biking and getting fit,not fat.

So what you folks think. All advice taken, even the cutting out of dfmb and the bru.

Jim

Reactions: oyster

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
Hi Jim,
A bloke of your size would need a motor to match. Have a look at the BPM motor here, it's the 3rd kit down:
http://wooshbikes.co.uk/?hubkits