Hi from Anglesey North Wales

Quark

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 2, 2013
Hi all,

Well after many years of wanting to do this, I have finally started my first electric bike project. I have decided to convert my existing mountain bike for my first build, and so far have managed to buy a crystalyte motor and an infineon controller, a rear rack and a motorcycle top box for battery storage, so the journey begins! My intention is to commute to work, some 24 miles of undulating roads with a few major hills, there and back in all weather with the exception of snow and ice so my biggest consideration and of course financial outlay will be my battery pack, Im looking at 48v 20ahr pack but cost here may be the restriction on the size of my pack. Im looking forward to picking brains here to help me on my way, Im an aircraft avionic/elec tech by trade so I do have a bit of a clue what Im doing but no experience at this as yet. Nice to meet you all.

Paul

Old_Dave

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 15, 2012
Dumfries & Galloway
Hi Paul

Welcome to the fourm.

Battery into reasonable size box dimensions are always an issue, whats the internal size of the box ?

If you have the skills, then splitting the pack into a more friendly size is an option..

Last edited:

wissy

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2013
Wales
Hi to Anglesey from Anglesey. :) Had guessed Llanddona as a few peeps go to Airbus from there but tis further than 12 miles ;)

not sure what all the technical stuff is but how fast should it go and is it throttle or pedelec etc?

I keep telling people Anglesey isn't flat!!

D

Deleted member 4366

Hi all,