Hopper Urban/ Coyote Connect/ Viking Harrier Problem?

dedPiksil

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 5, 2017
London
Hi all!

Please be gentle as I'm a complete newbie to the forum and to electric bikes in general! I've been trawling the forums looking for something similar to the problem I have but couldn't find anything so I was wondering if someone could help?

Here is the bike: https://www.tesco.com/direct/hopper-urban-electric-bike-burgundy/730-7949.prd?source=others

From when I bought it, it didn't feel like it was giving me much power when I'm pedalling even on high level assist. I came from a Dillenger Comfort so I know when an electric bike gives me a boost! After riding it for a week or so (a little less than 20 miles a day), I noticed the battery hadn't worn down much, just by one notch (80% - 100% on the battery light). I suspected that there was something wrong so on inspection - flipping it over and pedalling using hands - I found out two things:

- The motor didn't seem to kick in until after pedalling quite fast (in 1st or any gear)

- When it did kick in, it moved at a slow pace, as in not spinning fast as I guess I expected

Based on deduction - please tell me if you think I'm wrong - the battery seems normal as from the approx 100 miles I've rode, it's gone down a notch from full charge. I'm guessing this is the consequence of a small amount of assist if that makes sense, as opposed to the (idealistic) 25 miles I'm supposed to get with full pedal assist.

This leaves either the motor, controller or wiring... again, please correct me if I'm wrong!

Is there some kind of test/ repair/ replace motor etc. I could do? I think I'm competent enough to delve into it.

Unfortunately and very frustratingly, the seller is not willing to return the full amount I paid but is willing to give some back towards its repair.

Thank you in advance!

signwave

Pedelecer
Aug 1, 2016
Hampshire