Help! Looking for advice: Conversion kit for Surly Big Dummy

pkht

Just Joined
Sep 5, 2019
Hi all,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm looking for some assistance in trying to choose an ebike kit for my cargo bike. I'm very new to ebikes, so trying to learn as much as I can.

Some background: I have a Surly Big Dummy that will shortly be pressed into school run and commuting duties. I’m a pretty fit and experienced cyclist. My commute is 23km in each direction including a slight diversion for school drop off. The big dummy is a great cargo bike, but is very heavy, has quite fat MTB tyres, and needs a lot of human power to get up to speed and up hills. So I’m looking for something to add assistance, so it feels more like my normal bike. I’m basically looking for something to add it’s wattage to mine. My typical cruising output would be around 120-175W.

Here are some priorities I’m looking for:
  • It must be road legal, so 250W max I guess.
  • I’d like to keep the base function of the bike. So whatever kit it is, I’d like to keep all my existing gears (3 x 10) and still be able to ride it normally without electric power if I wanted to.
  • It currently has cable disc brakes, but I’d be looking to upgrade these to hydraulic in the not-too-distant-future. Does this affect the power cut-off methods?
  • It has an external bottom bracket, but I would still like to have pedal assist (rather than rely on a throttle).
  • Max weight, including bike, rider and human cargo will be in the region of 120-150kg. Take off about 20kg when I'm not carrying the little one.
  • Ideally, range would cover the full commute, there and back, so 50km. But it would be possible to charge at work.
What I’ve looked at so far:
  • Those Bafang mid drive kits. I don’t like these as it seems remove too many gears, and doesn’t seem to allow it to be used as a proper bike. I could be wrong?