New member! Looking for first ebike or kit...

zombiemax69

Pedelecer
Aug 31, 2022
Hey everyone,

Thanks for having me in the group. I'm looking to purchase my first ebike or kit for commuting. Previously I was commuting about 15 miles each to my place of work either on a carbon framed racer I built, or driving. The location of my work has now changed, and is now closer to 22 miles. Driving is now out of the question as the traffic is awful and petrol is sooo expensive... trains are also expensive and infrequent - so I'm looking for another solution!

Anyone commuting that kind of distance on an ebike? I'm totally new to this kind of vehicle, but have a had a little nosey around - from what I have read so far I'm thinking a kit would be the way to go. I'm not shy of a bit of DIY having built numerous bikes and restored a few old cars. Any pointers would be much appreciated! Budget is tight as I'm a yorkshireman :D, but I have a nice Whyte portabello hybrid that I'm thinking I would use as the base.

Alvin

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
That's quite a commute even by ebike. If you keep it a legal pedelec it will only be offering assist to 15mph, so around 1 1/2 hours unless you give lots of help. If the traffic is awful that doesn't sound much fun on any bike.

Unless it is very hilly, a rear hub conversion would probably be best for that commute.

An s-pedelec with more power and speed will be more appropriate; but to keep it legal comes with need for registration, plates, insurance etc. They can be difficult to find, and also difficult and expensive to insure as they are a currently a niche market that insurers don't understand.

If you convert to s-pedelec (speedier and more powerful motor) you will need some extra safety registration of the individual bike to keep it legal; others here can give more details on that.

Sadly, all that means a scooter or light motor bike may be a better bet.

Reactions: zombiemax69

zombiemax69

Pedelecer