Help! Newbie - What would you do in my situation?

jdd676

Finding my (electric) wheels
Apr 29, 2023
Hi all!

Newbie here as I just discovered the site today (not sure why it took me so long!)

I am looking to convert a Cannondale Quick Speed 2 (2016) (with tyres 30-622 126x1.20 - 700 x 300) like the one below or replace it with an electric equivalent if that makes more sense. This hybrid is a good bike for me (being tall) so guessing a conversion might work best.

The bike gets used for trips around town, longer bike rides with my son, and occasional trail rides. I am seeking electric just as an encouragement for the longer journeys when tired, or for for the inevitable 360 degree headwind, to avoid the temptation just to use the car.

I would be very grateful if anyone here could advise simply on what you would do in my situation. With work and family commitments, I am honestly struggling to mentally process all the options.

Many thanks.

(Edit: I had an order for a swytch but cancelled as I had no faith in their customer service or even staying in business. Could use a cycle-to-work scheme. Happy to do hands-on building/maintenance)

jdd676

Apr 29, 2023
(Just checking: did I ask a dumb question or is this post in the wrong place?)

matthewslack

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 26, 2021
You might have slipped off the front page before being seen due to level of forum activity in recent days!

Nice simple bike, capable of receiving any of the three conversion kit types: front hub, mid drive, rear hub.

As you were lined up with Swytch, and want part time assistance, the lightest front hub kit with not too large a battery might be the way to go.

Others can suggest actual models etc better than I, and I'm sure help will be here soon.

Reactions: jdd676

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Looking at the bike and I may be wrong , are they thru axles ?