Overvolting a controller

Cam3roon2k41999

Pedelecer
May 1, 2020
I recently purchased a 48v 1000w motor kit off eBay and I have 2x 48v battery’s what will happen if I connect both 48v battery’s and ride it will it blow the controller straight away? Thanks

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
If you connect them is series then yes, two use a pair of batteries at the same time you need to make up a parallel Y lead connecting from the controller to each battery.
All connections need to be Black, Black to Black & Red, Red to Red, at no time must any connection cross Black to Red.

In parallel you will still have a 48v battery, the capacity will increase as will the continuous discharge current to that of both added together. If paralleling make sure both batteries are charged to within 0.025v or closer and charge separately and not in parallel.

Cam3roon2k41999

Pedelecer
May 1, 2020
Ok thank you for reply I’m new to this lol for now I have red to red black to black going from one battery terminal
To the other so they are both linked will that be ok to connect them both

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
You MUST charge the batteries seperately, then BEFORE you connect them, measure the output voltage of each battery.
They must be as near equal voltage as makes no difference.
Very important - do check.

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Ok thank you for reply I’m new to this lol for now I have red to red black to black going from one battery terminal
To the other so they are both linked will that be ok to connect them both
Yes sounds ok, take pic and show us.

WheezyRider

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 20, 2020
You MUST charge the batteries seperately, then BEFORE you connect them, measure the output voltage of each battery.
They must be as near equal voltage as makes no difference.
Very important - do check.