Short distance folding ebike to put in the boot of my EV

Jon Matthews

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2018
Hi everyone,

I am doing a lot of mileage in my Hyundai Kona Electric for work. I work in the EV charging industry as a Senior Project Manager so have lots of clients to see all over the country. I have an Orbea Wild FS as my main ebike but would like to take one travelling with me in the car. The Kona Electric has a small boot like the Golf or A3. I want a cheap folding ebike that I can fit in the boot and park and ride to the customers I visit. Any suggestions would be gratefully received, thank you.

Jon Matthews

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2018
And by cheap, how much do you mean ?
Around £1K, I don't want a Brompton, just something for occasional use. I would need an XL frame and range would be fine at 30 miles. I weigh 101KG so I'm heavy, which can destroy range and bikes in general.

Woosh

Trade Member
May 19, 2012
Southend on Sea
wooshbikes.co.uk
almost all folding bikes selling for £1,000 have tiny battery capacity for 30 miles.
You'll need at a very least 36V 10AH.

cyclebuddy

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 2, 2016
Beds & Norfolk
I think your problem is more frame size rather than weight or range. Folding bikes by definition are most often "small" in size - at least when I tried a few before buying. I'm 5'10", weigh more than you, and my other normal/e-bikes are "L" not "XL" framed. I found "reach" on all the folders I tried was by far the biggest issue. They all felt short/cramped.

Fiido's D11/21 have a 36v 11.6Ah seat-post battery which will easily cover the range you need and are priced around your budget. I bought a Fiido D11 and added a riser-bar to ease the reach. But if you're normally an XL... I wouldn't even consider it.

Reactions: Jon Matthews

Jon Matthews

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2018
Thank you both for replying. I think I'll go and sit on one at Decathlon or just buy an unpowered bike and convert it.

Jon Matthews

Pedelecer
Aug 22, 2018