South Devon E-Cyclist

devon_skylark

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 9, 2012
South Devon
Hi, All

I am new to pedelecs having bought a BH E-Motion City Deluxe on ebay. It is two years old, done 1850 miles but the battery still manages 30 miles plus of Devon hills so I'm really pleased with it. I'm still struggling to get used to a bike with a cross bar having only ridden ladies bikes before. I plan to try it to Salcombe on Saturday - 30 mile round trip with lots of steep hills.

I have been cycling a push bike for years but thought I might try commuting to work, a round trip of just under 40 miles but I expect I'll have to pedal in low most of the time to get the range.

I've found this forum very useful in deciding what type of electric bike I'd like, and decided that a crank driven bike was the only choice for where I live.

carpetbagger

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 20, 2007
blackburn
Enjoy, i am sure you will have lots of fun with it,especially up hill ! You can upgrade your battery to an 18a/25a if you want to go further afield when you current one shows signs of wear.
All we need now is that bit of yellow that occasionally appears in the sky.....

Badger

Just Joined
May 5, 2012
Kingsbridge
Hi, I'm also in South Devon (near Kingsbridge). Yesterday I ordered my first ebike (Kalkhoff Proconnect BS10) - now I'm like a kid waiting for Christmas!!!

I'm not worried about it's limited range but really like the extra power to get me up these Devon hills, and I rather like the idea of overtaking KCC students on West Alvington Hill instead of getting off and walking (as I have to with my old push bike).

devon_skylark

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 9, 2012
South Devon
Hi, Badger