Total newbie. Wanting a UK LEGAL eBike for effortless steep hill riding.

Avzy

Just Joined
Jun 13, 2023
Hi, all. I live in a very hilly area. I can go for miles, but absolutely HATE inclines, to where I will literally avoid routes with inclines, walking or cycling. I don't mind exercise, but it's the burn in the body when slogging up hills that is miserable for me.

I'm not that fit, and I don't want to have to pay tax and get insurance. I don't care that much about speed, as long as I can effortlessly ascend steep hills with very little, to no effort (even if that means slowing down, somewhat).

I'm 200 pounds. The highest wattage that is legal here is 250w continuous power (I don't believe there is a law that restricts peak power).

I've been looking everywhere, and for whatever reason, I can't search for bikes based on torque, peak power, etc.

What sort of bikes should I be looking at that are legal on the roads, relatively affordable (nothing over 1.5k [but if you must show me one with good stats, regardless of price, it might be helpful]), and something where my unfit ass won't break a sweat going up steep hills.

Also, where do I go to search for bikes based on stats? Every site I go to seems to only advertise their bikes with snazzy BS marketing names and not listing anything to do with motor power or torque, etc.

P.S. I am a total newbie. Please go easy on me.

Last edited:

Az.

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 27, 2022
Plymouth
Welcome

Check

Maybe you will find something you like. You have healthy budget

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015

Peter.Bridge

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 19, 2023
Depends on how steep, total weight of rider + bike, where the motor is (hub or mid drive) There is a rather good predictor here

From the Woosh website

Will your bikes sail up hills?

It depends on your weight. The heavier you are, the more slowly you can go uphill on throttle.
With hub motors, you will need to use pedal the assist mode going up most hills.