Warrington commuter

barod

Pedelecer
Aug 17, 2017
Warrington
Hello everyone, what a mine of useful information this site is - much respect!

I live and work in Warrington, with a 6.5 trip commute by bike that I've been doing most working days of the year for the past 10 years or so. It's pretty flat and it usually takes me a little under 30 mins, so average speed is 13 – 14 mph. Sadly my employers have decided to close the office early next year and relocate us to central Manchester. Faced with the prospect of an almost 20 mile ride each way I was initially resigned to becoming just another miserable sardine on the train, but then I had the brainwave of getting going electric. I started out with the idea of buying a pedelec, but then I tried one out and realised how hard it is to get them to go much faster than the 15.5mph where the pedal assistance cuts out – they weigh such a lot! That's not going to work for me: I'm looking for something that'll enable me to do the commute in about an hour (so average speed around 20 mph) without feeling exhausted at the end (though I'm quite willing to continue to put in the same amount of energy that I do now – in fact I'd want to).

Having browsed the forum it sounds as though a conversion based around a Q128c with a 48v battery would be an ideal solution – I've got a pretty nice Giant hybrid that would be the candidate, and my wife will be delighted that I'm not getting yet another bike (I've got 4)! I've already got a reasonably clear idea of what I think I want, but there are a few things I'd like to clarify. However, I’ll post those in the appropriate place in the forum. I look forward to the advice :)

Bye for now,
Dorab

Andy Bluenoes

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 31, 2016
uk
Hi Dorab
I do the trip daily from Warrington to Manchester...it's a really nice run. Takes just over an hour on my oxygen.

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk

• Informative
Reactions: LeighPing

barod

Pedelecer
Aug 17, 2017
Warrington