Which Bike For Reliability?

Ray Johnson

Finding my (electric) wheels
Feb 16, 2016
Hello, newbie here.

Which bike has the best reputation for reliability? I am considering buying a bike, so far I have had rides on Kalkhoff, KTM, Wisper, Oxygen and Raleigh.

If I buy one and a couple of years down the line, when the warranty has expired and the bike goes wrong and say, the suppliers have gone out of business, who do I get to repair it?

Which bike is the least likely to go wrong?

At the moment the Oxygen is favourite for buying by a short head from Wisper.

Any thoughts?

soundwave

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 23, 2015
id go with a Bosch or Yamaha motor bike as the motors are around the same price to replace them around 500 euro.

like all bikes parts will wear out and will need servicing now and then to keep it all working as it should.

just depends how much you want to spend?

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
The Impulse unit that Kalkhoff use has been having some problems with the version 2, which you can read about on this thread.

The latest version now is the Impulse Evo and hopefully that will be trouble free, but it's too new to know with certainty yet.

In a relatively small market like the e-bikes one, it's impossible to say that any supplier will definitely last, but you have selected a good set of names which should be secure.

zebody

Pedelecer
Oct 19, 2009
East Yorkshire
As far as reputation for reliability in my opinion ezee bilks have proved excellent.
I have had an ezeetorq since 2006 and it's still on the road going strong.
I baught another in 2009 ezeetorq 2 and it's still on the road and have ordered another latest modal ezee Forza.
Used them for work in all weather including snow.
Hope this helps.

Reactions: flecc

Lancslass

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 3, 2015
Egerton, BL7 North Bolton, Lancashire