Yet another battery question

Gringo

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 18, 2013
Northampton
OK so were all sick of battery questions but I'm looking for a technology question/answer.
This question is probably best answered by trade members of folks who have had many e-bikes.

Given that tech has moved on in leaps and bounds since I brought my Agattu in 2008 with its 26v 10a battery.
I'm now looking at a Cube with the Bosch drive unit (cruise) ? And Bosch 400 battery.
Keeping to my same riding style, can i expect a better range from the cube.
I'm not looking for a answer in miles, that would be daft, but a rough idea on how much more efficient this new tech is would be nice.
Thanks Carl

Kudoscycles

Official Trade Member
Apr 15, 2011
www.kudoscycles.com
I don't see any reason why we should not answer in miles. Your bike is going up in capacity from 260 Wh to 400 Wh. Ballpark is 10 wh per mile so you should increase your range from 26 to 40 miles. Your new bike will have a nice fresh battery whereas the old one was probably pretty much finished. I expect your range to double,the Bosch system is very fuel efficient.
Out of interest will you scrap your old bike? I only ask because I have had a lot of potential customers in last week who's old e-bikes were holding almost no charge in their batteries,the bikes were 3-4 years old,most seemed resigned to scrapping their old bike because of the difficulty/ expense of replacing batteries. Not exactly green if these bikes are disposable items after 4 years.!!!
KudosDave

Gubbins

Esteemed Pedelecer
OK so were all sick of battery questions but I'm looking for a technology question/answer.
This question is probably best answered by trade members of folks who have had many e-bikes.

Given that tech has moved on in leaps and bounds since I brought my Agattu in 2008 with its 26v 10a battery.
I'm now looking at a Cube with the Bosch drive unit (cruise) ? And Bosch 400 battery.