Help! 2 wheels better than 4, when its not raining.

bob d

Finding my (electric) wheels
Oct 14, 2023
Hello out there,
Well I guess help is the motivation I have to be here and in the interests of keeping a long story short I'd better get on with it. I'm a retired engineer of sorts and I've been associated with 2 wheeled transport since my childhood. Push bikes, mopeds, small motorbikes and big motorbikes have carried me many a mile, and now in my retirement my desire to fix things (classic bikes) that don't work has become a bit of (a lot really) a hobby.
I've been watching the world of e-bikes for quite a few years now and have noted their technical development with some interest and so when recently offered a 20 plus year old Ezee Sprint in a non working condition I jumped at the chance to try my hand at renovating it.
The mechanical and basic wiring stuff is'nt a problem for me but after finding and correcting several electrical faults and correcting them there is still not a flicker of life from the poor thing.
In the interests of maintaining originality I really don't to go down the route of fitting a new kit/system and so a helping hand (a clever electronics person) is needed to further this project.
The bike shops I've contacted so far have had no interest other than to try to sell me a new bike and have avoided talking technical.
So , here I am wondering which way to jump next and wondering what type of response this little story my get.
Many Thanks
bob d

saneagle

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 10, 2010
Telford
It might be easy to fix or not. In principle, any such ebike is easy to fix but Ezee used some non-standard parts.

To fix any ebike, this is how you check it with everything switched on that you can:
1. Measure the voltage at controller's battery connector. Obviously should be battery voltage. 36v - 42v for a 36v battery would be an acceptable range, but if you've fully charged the battery and it's less than 41v, it needs some sorting.