A load of questions re bosch classic and classic plus systems.Help please!

willywombat

Pedelecer
Jul 7, 2015
Recently bought a lovely gepida berig 2012/2013 and am thinking of purchasing the new ebike vision battery from Germany . I'm fairly sure its a classic motor rather than classic+ as
it has the small speedo/controller mounted to the left rather than centrally..Can anyone confirm how to tell the difference?
For anyone interested I've found the new battery 468wh available for 449 Euros + post from Germany 100 Euros cheaper than rrp. I'm aware the 1st batch had teething problems but if you Google translate the subject on German pedelec forum things seem to have been sorted.
out of interest are there any other battery options for the Bosch classic apart from OEM ? Also are classic and classic plus batteries interchangeable?
Finally ..I'm new to ebikes but a lifelong cyclist and fettler. On many bikes over the years I've worn out the bottom bracket and had to replace .What happens with the Bosch motor ? Is the motor finished when the equivalent bearings are worn or can something be done?
Many thanks
Bill in exeter

Artstu

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 2, 2009
Phil on here has one of these batteries http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/351076463619?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

Bosch will currently just replace the whole motor free of charge, a local bike shop helped me to get mine replaced.
The drive side bearing is a standard bearing and is replaceable, however the other bearing is an unusual size and currently impossible to source. Pulling the motor apart is a bit fiddly, but perfectly within the realm of a competent DIY'er.

Reactions: v.s.o.p.

willywombat

Pedelecer
Jul 7, 2015
As I understand things Bosch are only replacing classic " + " motors rather than the classic (unless someone can confirm otherwise.) And you need to have complained about freewheeling trouble etc.