Battery mounting and other questions.

drillam

Pedelecer
Apr 24, 2010
South Coast
Hiya
Well I joined and posted my introductory mail on the appropriate thread so here's my first couple of questions.
Firstly I'm very new to bicycles and pedelecs so please forgive my ignorance.

I'm just about to take the plunge and order a conversion kit for my mountain bike, this bike, barley ridden until last week although owned for a couple of years-

I'm buying a 48v 1000w rear wheel kit and have decided on 2 x 20aH Lifepo batteries.

This is the kit:-

48v 1000w Rear Electric Scooter conversion Kits E bike on eBay (end time 29-May-10 05:22:04 BST)

and these are the batteries:-

48V 20AH LiFePO4 Battery Electric Scooter E Bike Safe on eBay (end time 28-Apr-10 07:30:04 BST)

I'd like to mount the batteries low down at the rear, straddling the wheel to keep the weight low. Would something like this be strong enough?

Bicycle Rear Rack attaches to Saddle post on eBay (end time 01-May-10 11:57:35 BST)

Next I'd like a sturdy, waterproof, secure method of attachment and was thinking of lockable ABS type panniers. Like a smaller version of the kinda thing I used to use on my motorbikes.
Does anyone know of a scource for these? or another method?

Is it best to connect both batteries is parrallel or run one down first then switch to the second when it's exhausted?

My personal weight is around 200 pounds, no I'm not a fat sod I'm just 6'6" tall. So I'm estimating the weight of bike, kit, batteries etc and myself combined will be around 300 lbs. My son who's bigger and heavier cycled John O Groats - Land's End some years back and tells me his normal tyres kept bursting under his weight and he had to get special road type tyres.
However I'd like to retain the off road mountain bike type for gentle tracks and suchlike.
What would be your recomendations in this respect?
Many more questions to follow.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
regards
Drillam

Psycosis

Pedelecer
Oct 28, 2009