BBS02 died on hitting bump

JonathanB

Just Joined
Nov 17, 2018
Hello

I hope someone can help me because I have run out of ideas.

I have a BBS02 500W 36v conversion I have been commuting on for about 18 months with no issues. About a month ago on going over a bump the electrics all shut down and the display was dead. It refused to switch on although occasionally the display would briefly power up for half a second or so. I rode it for the rest of the week unpowered and without the battery because I didn't have time to check for a fault. That weekend I started checking for a wiring fault but couldn't find anything. However, with no idea what I did it decided to work again.

However, this week the same thing happened again.
I have tested the battery output and it is reading 40v. I removed the motor and checked the internal wiring plugs and they all seem fine. I have a programming cable so I plugged that in place of the display and I get no throttle response. When the battery is plugged into the motor but nothing else is plugged on the wiring loom the volts starts at about 10v then climbs to 40v at a rate of about 0.1 v every 2 seconds. I have no idea what that might indicate.

My best guess is I either have a wiring fault in the loom that I cant' find or the motor controller has failed? Does this seem likely? Is there a way anyone can suggest that I could work out which it is?

KirstinS

Esteemed Pedelecer
Apr 5, 2011
Brighton
What battery do you have ? If hailong style then try cleaning the contacts and also bending the receiving springs little. Over time they can become a little stretched and stopmaking good contact. Especially when bump dislodge

I'd also try plugging your multimeter into battery and shaking it like I've had welds go inside battery packs before. Then behave intermittently when the nickel strip is either pressed into the cell so it works , or a small bump lifts it off and creates a cutout

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nealh