Best Electric Bike

Dougie

Finding my (electric) wheels
Apr 8, 2007
Hi all,
I am brand new to this web site so please forgive any ignorance -
please could anyone help me with the following.
I am looking to purchase an electric bike - price not a major obsticale but
would like it to look similar to an ordinary road bike with good distance and
speed.
I have looked at the Torq and would like any opinons about this bike
and what realistic distance/speed figures can anyone give.
Should I also buy a back up battery as well to cover longer distances.?
What is the Rolls Royce of electric bikes in terms of spec etc and is anything new on the horizon worth waiting for ? ;)
I am looking to loose weight (15 stone at present) :D and would really
appreciate any advice because to be honest I have not got a clue ! :confused:
Many thanks
Dougie

Beeping-Sleauty

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 12, 2006
Colchester, Essex
Hi all,
I am brand new to this web site so please forgive any ignorance -
please could anyone help me with the following.
speed.
What is the Rolls Royce of electric bikes in terms of spec etc and is anything new on the horizon worth waiting for ? ;)
appreciate any advice because to be honest I have not got a clue ! :confused:
Many thanks
Dougie
Hi Dougie and welcome to the forum,

there are a lots of Torq enthusiasts on the board and there are plenty of discussions covering different aspects of that machine, but in a nutshell, it appears to give up to 20 miles on a single charge, has a good turn of speed at about 20 mph when de-restricted ( a simple DIY modification ) it looks and rides pretty much like a normal bike and seems to be good value for money.

there are some reviews of other bikes

Extra batteries are obviously a good idea to extend your range, although they are a little pricey, see the threads about options and prices.