Help! Bit of maintenance advice for an amateur

AndyHoller

Finding my (electric) wheels
May 6, 2020
Hi everyone, hoping you might be able to help me with some maintenance advice.

So a few weeks ago borrowed my wife's electric bike for a journey and..... completely, over the handlebars, stacked it (tires caught in tram tracks in the rain is my excuse!). Anyway, I straightened the now off centre handlebars, got back on and didn't think any more of it. I haven't ridden it since. We both went out the other day (me on my usual, non-electric) and I noticed I'd done more damage than I thought! See attached GIF.

My questions are:
(1) Is this a buckled wheel? (I think if is, but I'm not very good at this sort of stuff)
(2) Could a 'normal' bike shop help with this? We bought second hand so can't easily go back to the original electric bike shop it was bought from
(3) If the wheel need replacing, I'm no expert but it looks proprietary or something to me. Doesn't look like a normal bike wheel anyway. Is some bit of the motor in there or something?

Any advice gratefully received, the bike itself is an older model Momentum Electric Model T

35949IMG_20200601_205553.jpgIMG_20200601_205606.jpg

zoros

Pedelecer
May 15, 2019
That wheel is so buckled!! Beyond repair and easier to replace it as a whole. I would guestimate atleast £100-£200 parts and then labour on top.
Bike's a write off- claim it off your household insurance!

BazP

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 8, 2017
Sheffield
Hi everyone, hoping you might be able to help me with some maintenance advice.

So a few weeks ago borrowed my wife's electric bike for a journey and..... completely, over the handlebars, stacked it (tires caught in tram tracks in the rain is my excuse!). Anyway, I straightened the now off centre handlebars, got back on and didn't think any more of it. I haven't ridden it since. We both went out the other day (me on my usual, non-electric) and I noticed I'd done more damage than I thought! See attached GIF.