Choices, choices, choices !!

Mattyduk

Pedelecer
Jan 26, 2007
First of all, Hi to you all. I;ve been lurking on the Synergie Yahoo group and was directed here by one of it's members.

I've been using a Synergie Extreme bike for the last 9 months. For the most part the experiance has been good, apart from the brakes/lights that had to be replaced, and now the battery (lead acid) has degraded.

So I've now got a choice.

I can replace the lead acid battery for a £100, but I'll only end up doing that again in 9 months, and the rest of the bike's quality is a bit suspect.

I;ve been looking at the new Synergie Mistral, which uses a Lithium battery and guarantees 400 to 500 recharges cycles, it's 14kgs lighter, and has a 25 to 30 mile range. all for a measly £450. But you know what they say, buy cheap buy twice

In the mid range, I've been looking at the Urban Mover UM36, but again, the range will be a bit limited although the bike is lighter than the extreme. Not too sure about the Ni-Mh battery life span either. So that's about £750

and finally, the Ezee torq - with it's nice looks, lightness, lithium battery and of course higher price £1200.

So reading the reviews of this very useful site, it appears that despite the Torq being such a high price, it's had similar problems to my Extreme, with the brakes/lights - not something I'd expect for £1,200. There are also concerns about the hill climbing, although as long as it can power up the same hills as the way the extreme does, that isn't a problem. Looking at the AtoB review, this seems in conflict with the owners review on this site.

So what do do ? As you can see, I'm after a particular looking type of bike. I want it to look like a normal mountain/tourer bike, but with a battery.

flecc

Oct 25, 2006