Cold And Rain

c_elder

Pedelecer
Aug 6, 2007
I'm new to the pedelec's forum but found my way here after 6 months of looking at electric bikes on and off. Basically I would like one to commute my 23 mile round trip in London. However, I've been put off by reports that rain ingress into electrical contacts and battery non-performance in the cold seriously hampers reliability.

However, looking at some of the posts in this forum I get the impression that these are now longer major gripes, especially on the newer and more top end bikes. On the other hand it is summer!

Does anyone have an opinion on water ingress and cold batteries? I am especially interested in views on :
Wisper 905e (soon to be 905Se)
Ezee Liv Plus
Ezee Forte
Gazelle Easy Glider

Thanks in advance for any input

rsscott

Administrator
Staff member
Aug 17, 2006
Hi c_elder and welcome to the forum!

I've commuted (approx 20-mile round trip) on an eZee Torq (approx 2,000 miles) and a Cyclone (cheap Chinese import ~5-6000 miles). Both have been ridden through all a British weather could throw at me including prolonged torrential rain. I've never suffered any electrical problems with either bike during those conditions.

From my own experience it's difficult to judge whether my batteries suffered in the colder conditions (sometimes I would hit red on the guage sooner than in the summer) but I attribute that more to the extra weight I was carrying in winter clothing etc..

I'm sure others will be along soon with some more experiences for you!

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
In brief:

The Wisper 905se will be additional to the 905e, the "e" being the normal always legal bike, the "se" being a high speed version when illegally derestricted like the eZee Torq. As with the Torq, the "se" may have some hill climb deficit as a result, but that's not yet known. I have no knowledge of waterproofing on these models. Li-ion batteries.