Complete newbie - Cyclotricity Revolver

crispyw

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jun 3, 2014
I thought I’d post my experience in buying and riding my electric bike as I thought it might help others who are wading through all the information who might be in the same position.
Firstly – me - I’m nearly 47, I’m not a sportsperson, I don’t cycle as a hobby. I do have an old Raleigh Trail bike that gets used occasionally on fine days, and although I’m not particularly overweight (about 13.5 stone) I could probably do with losing a stone or so. I don’t have any health problems and I haven’t smoked for years but I’m not particularly fit and I’m quite lazy and certainly don’t enjoy exercise for its own sake. I used to cycle to work all the time in my twenties and early thirties in a different job so I’m not a complete cycling novice, but I’m very much not a bike obsessive, and just know how to do some basic maintenance. A bike for me is for getting from A to B, and maybe for a pleasant ride on a nice day.
Basically I was looking for something to help me get to work – I live in Cardiff, my office is about 5 miles away, but has 2 big hills in the way. If the journey to work was all on the flat I’d happily cycle in all the time (apart from in the rain!)
I have cycled in a couple of times but ended up having to get off and push at least twice, so the journey took about 35 - 40 minutes and there is only one shower in the building, making the whole journey more like an hour door to desk when it’s barely a fifteen minute drive. I had endless conversations with cycling friends who all said things like ‘but after a few weeks you’d be fit and sailing up those hills’ but even the fittest cyclists who commute to our office still need a shower – the last hill is really steep. I also often have to drop my kids off at school and pick them up so this makes it difficult to fit it all in.