Complete Newbie to e-bikes.

DeanAllen

Finding my (electric) wheels
Aug 2, 2016
leeds
hi as title says im a complete newbie to e-bikes.
how ever i did look years ago and reviews was really bad with battery life but i persume as technology changes so does quality.

anyway i do have a view questions regarding why i'm looking.
I'm looking a cheaper mode of transport to work and back. ( I just changed job at leeds bradford airport)
if anyone knows the area theres some long steep hills I just dont have the power to climb on my mountain bike.
so i have been looking at moped or ebike's.
and here's my question.

what kit would you recommend for a 4 mile journey 2 mile down hill 2 mile up hill ? (I'm other side of vallley)
and how reliable are the kit's?
would you get two batterys or would one do?

STEVEMANFA

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 27, 2015
Forest of Dean
What bike have you got and can you post up a pic
Halfords have 20% off all there bikes at the moment
And they have the carrera crossfire on sale at £799.00 this is a fab price for a e-bike 2years warranty and for not a lot more than a kit.

If it was me I'd buy the halfords bike

• Agree
Reactions: LeighPing

LeighPing

Esteemed Pedelecer
Mar 27, 2016
The Red Ditch
You probably have a Halfrauds near you to go and test ride the one that Steve has rightly suggested. If you do, let us know how you get on with it. :)

JuicyBike

Trade Member
Jan 26, 2009
Derbyshire
Hi Dean
The kits use very similar components to the cheaper, built electric bikes and mainly rely on how well they're installed for their reliability.
For your journey of only a few miles I don't see any need for a spare battery - even the GTech's tiny battery would cope (though the motor and gearing might struggle IMO).
We have a stockist in Leeds that should be willing to let you try a bike up a decent local hill. I think Wilco in Leeds would be worth a call on 0113 277 1221 Post code LS10 1BA