Controller Problem I think?

whytey33

Just Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Hi all. I am a complete noob 2 electric bikes but I decided 2 get 1 to get me out and about a bit more healthily!! I bought a unworking bike of ebay thinking even with limited electrical knowledge and my love for tinkering I could get it 2 work! I have succeeded by cutting the wires and rerouting them through a controller purchased off ebay. The problem I have is it severely loses power after about a mile. The battery display still says full. I am thinking it may be the wrong controller. It is 24v 350w. The trouble is I have no idea what the battery output voltage or the motor wattage is. Would a 24v controller work on 36v battery? and would a 350w controller work with a 250w motor? I have emailed electricbikes.co.uk for assistance as I believe the bike came from there originally but they were unable to help. It has cambridge electo-motion stickered on it as well as hybrid. That is all the identifying marks as far as I can tell. And advice would be greatly appreciated.

Dave

Blew it

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2008
Swindon, Wiltshire
If we start with the motor. Most 24 volt motors will run at 36 volts. As for the rest of the system, it is essential that you first find out the battery voltage. You will need a multi-meter to do this. These can be purchased reasonably cheaply. Once you have established the battery voltage, it may then be possible to offer further advice and hopefully get the machine up and running.

All the best
Bob

whytey33

Just Joined
Jul 23, 2010
Thanks for the quick reply. Just looked at charger and battery is 24v, I cant believe I never looked there before!! So could the problem be the controller outputting 350w to the motor? which I assume is 250w. Thanx

Dave

Blew it

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2008
Swindon, Wiltshire