Cyclamatic FoldAway : Powering it up ?

Julien

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 8, 2013
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the Pedelecs forum community and I've been wanting to get more speed and torque on my Cyclamatic FoldAway.

As a n00b I will be relying on your help to see what can be done to transform this little e bike into something a little more powerful.

From what I read on this forum members have been working on Cyclamatic Power Plus and getting significant results.

Looking at their work, here is the big picture of what I'm aiming to do on my Bike :
- Upgrading the Battery to 36v​

- The current controller is a 24v controller, the low voltage Cut off will be too low to protect the battery

- Will the BMS in the battery pack be able to protect the cells from undervoltage ?

- How can I fit a 36v baterry into this bike ? there are tons of battery pack looking close to the one used on my bike but I did not find any "square" bar type battery at 36v

- Performing the shunt mod on controller​

- I need to check if the controller is the same as on the Powerplus, if so I should be able to add enough solder to draw around 18 amps safely

- Need to see how can I bypass the speed limit
- Changing the gearing​

- the gearing is preventing me from helping the motor on flat land I need to supply more human produced torque to this bike

Please feel free to comment :)

Julien

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
it's usually not cost effective to modify a high volume bike. You'll need to buy a new 36V 10AH battery with new charger, about £200-250 and a new 36V controller, about £20-25.
You can of course recoup some of the outlay by selling the existing battery and controller but there is virtually no demand for this type.

D

Deleted member 4366

Cyclezee should be able to help you out with a DNP freewheel gear-set to get your gearing right for cpmfortable pedalling. Cost about £25. You want a six or seven speed with 11T top gear.