E scooter performance info needed urgently please

jkam

Finding my (electric) wheels
Mar 10, 2013
Hi all, Can you help with a little knowledge please? I am intending to collect a Yamaha scooter I bought tomorrow with fully charged new batteries, I want to ride it about 10 miles home but the seller said .....'are you thinking of riding it home i dont think it will make it as they are just for short distance they do about 12mls on a full charge but not in one go as the motor gets hot after 2to 3 mls then you have to give them a rest these do not go like a motor bike' The listing said range 28 miles at 15mph. I have no experience of e bikes/scooters. Surely what he states is wrong and it must be faulty? It's a Yamaha Matis R.
I don't think they wetre marketed in the UK. Seller remorse maybe? I paid £190
Thanks

D

Deleted member 4366

It has SLA batteries that are knackered.
Unfortunately you have another problem: Without pedals and a number plate, you're going to get stopped by the police. They're not legal without pedals.

jkam

Mar 10, 2013
Sorry if this is in the wrong section but it was the only place seemingly offering a POST option.

Did you read fully charged new batteries& discount it because you know that minimal mileage & hot motor means I have been misinformed?
Did you assume SLAs for the same reason?
It has pedals....though because of the low seat & my height not very useable.
I asked seller if street legal & he confirmed citing pedals & 15MPH
Weight & Wattage are factors also acceptable.
I have to collect or request a refund TODAY!
Thanks

funkylyn

Esteemed Pedelecer
Feb 22, 2011
South Shields, Tyne & Wear
Seriously if the seller has told you it needs to rest after 2 to 3 miles cos it gets hot........my advice is......

REQUEST THE REFUND........QUICK !!!!!

and look around again for something much more suitable......plenty help on here to guide you if you want :)

Lynda :)

D

Deleted member 4366