From Zephyr to Big Bear maybe?

Marwood Hill

Esteemed Pedelecer
Mar 28, 2016
North Devon
I have had two years experience riding an electric bicycle. I own a Woosh Zephyr CDN. I am now wanting to change to a full size (below £1000) bike and have been looking at the Big Bear. My Zephyr CDN is great, it copes with all hills brilliantly and is reasonably comfortable. My new bike would have to pull even better and have improved comfort. I am guessing the Big Bear will do so? One thing which i have been giving thought to, the front wheel motor, will i be able to hear it, being as it's in front of me? My CDN is silent, i don't hear a thing. I would also like an upright seating position so i would like to change the handlebars for ones similar to the ones on the Big Bear LS. Will the front wheel lose traction if i do so, as there will be less weight over the wheel?

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
My wife has a Big Bear LS and we live in west Wales. It can certainly handle the hills with ease. However the riding position is very upright, so there is not much weight over the front wheel. Therefore it can lose traction on steeper sections that are either wet or loose surface. Also you will hear it on those steeper sections. It is louder and a bit harsher than my Ezee.
Otherwise it seems a robust bike and seeing my wife (not a lifelong cyclist) trundling around the narrow lanes of Wales, overtaking roadies on the hills, whilst bolt upright, makes me smile.

Reactions: Marwood Hill

Marwood Hill

Esteemed Pedelecer
Mar 28, 2016
North Devon
A rear driving Big Bear LS is the Santana2. I wasn't aware of this model. Really like the idea of the rear motor. Pity it hasn't got the Big Bear crossbar frame. I am looking to get a retro looking bike that looks like a Pashley Roadster but with great hill climbing power. Still looking at the Big Bear and fitting Roadster type handlebars, saddle etc.

Reactions: trex

Marwood Hill

Esteemed Pedelecer
Mar 28, 2016