Getting the wheel apart

drsolly

Pedelecer
Jan 21, 2014
Problem in my motor wheel; it will turn one way, but is totally jammed the other way. It's a 250 watt geared hub. I suspect gear damage.

But the first problem is, I can't get it apart to have a look inside. If I try to take the cassette off, the only way I can see is by turning it via the two small hoes about a centimeter from the center. And I can't turn in, even if I whack it with a hammer-and-screwdriver.

sidea.jpg

If I try to get in from the other side, there's a drum brake screwed on. To remove it, I'd have to turn it anti-clockwise (I think), but I don't have a tool that will get it off, and the old hammer-and-screwdriver on the two 1-cm holes in it, won't budge it either.

WD40 hasn't helped.

sideb.jpg

I'm a newbie at this level of bike repair. Could anyone suggest A) which side do I really need to get off, and B) how to do that first stage of dismantling? Is there a tool I need to get?

Thanks.

D

Deleted member 4366

If you undo those 6 screws, the whole side will come off with rhe gears still attached. You'll have to remove the nut inside the gears first if you want to get at the internal gears. Once you've removed that side, the guts of the motor can be rapped out of the housing by hitting the axle on the other side with a soft mallet. No need to touch the brake except that you jave to remove the nut on that sife if you want to take the guts out. You don't need to remove the guts to service the clutch and internal gears, but if it moves OK one way then it's more likely that a magnet is jammed or something like that.

drsolly

Pedelecer
Jan 21, 2014
Thanks, that worked!

gears.jpg

So, here's the inside, and it's obvious now that the problem is the gears. The steel outer gear looks OK, I can clear out the bits of nylon gear from the inside, but the next questions are: