Hello from across the pond

matchbox

Just Joined
May 22, 2016
maine, us
Hello, I will keep this as an introduction about myself.

About my ebikes... I'm a lifelong cyclist/builder/wrench, over 40 years. Because of disabling pain I've been riding ebikes for 2 years, have built 4 of them now. Started small and *cheap* (nothing cheap about them, really) converting first my own bikes, then picked up a couple specialty bikes as my need for them increased. The latest include a full suspension mtb for road errands, and a basket trike for carrying things. I started with an ecruiser for dog walking and an old emtb for the wife to tag along.

For the past couple years I've been over at the primary US ebike site, got some help with the learning curve but have no use for the kiddy sand box atmosphere. Some of the help was from Brits and I think I recognize one or 2 screen names from over there. I'm aware of the supplier differences between our nations and the differing laws. I'm just here to learn and read about mutual interests, maybe soak up some culture.

As for cultural concerns we prefer videos of old British programs. BBC Shakespeare, Rumpole, Up/Down, Father Brown, As Time Goes By. We don't have a television connection, just old videos. We own a copy of Heartlands. I have an American degree in English which basically means lit, Dickens and Austen being what I remember most, and of course the Bard. I lived for a time in Germany and really liked being in Europe.

Anyway I'm sure I'll be asking questions when bike issues pop up on the appropriate pages. Thanks if you read this far. I apologize if I caused indigestion.

cyberdyne_systems

Pedelecer
May 8, 2016
Surrey
Welcome, interesting introduction, thanks for sharing.

Impressed that you started out by building your own bikes.

I'm sure your knowledge could prove useful here, :cool:

Reactions: matchbox

yaffa

Pedelecer
Apr 28, 2016
Kent
Hello Matchbox,