Hi All, Wondering if I could get any advice for an 8fun battery problem?

Bezzer

Finding my (electric) wheels
Nov 17, 2013
Hi All, Wondering if I could get any advice for an 8fun battery problem?
Hi All, I am new to this forum but it looks great! I have been using an 8fun kit for around 18 months with very few problems (other than when it is wet it cuts out). Recently the battery died and I was unable to charge it (36v 9AH). I took the battery apart and found quite a bit of moisture inside so dried the components with a hairdryer and eventually the battery began to charge again. However, it was only delivering around half the power and would only charge to max 3 out of 4 lights on the meter. Then the battery failed completely. I have done the following tests:

Voltage direct from the cells is 37v exactly. Voltage out of BMS is virtually zero. However if I touch the transistors on top while I am earthed the output voltage goes up to about 36v?? Can I assume that the battery cells are ok and the BMS has a fault? The BMS looks like this and has the model number BMS 18-20 KLH15S01

KLH15S01.jpeg

I contacted 8fun and they said they do not sell the parts - only batteries! But they will ask the battery factory in Hong Kong??

Would anyone know where I could obtain one of these or have it repaired?

Thanks

D

Deleted member 4366

The BMS is a logic device. I measures the cell voltages and overall current. When it detects something isn't right, it switches off to protect the cells from further damage.

37v is too low. It should be about 41.7v hot off the charger.