Hybrid with internal gear hub: mid-drive or front hub kit?

alx

Just Joined
May 25, 2022
I live in Bristol, UK, and though I'm fine getting about town on my bike, I'd like to have something to help me extend my range so that I can go further afield (up to the Mendip hills etc), and get away more while towing a trailer (Burley Nomad).

The bike I'm considering converting is a Scott SUB 35 hybrid, which has an internal gear hub (Shimano Nexus 8) on the rear wheel, so I'm limited to mid-drive or front hub kits.

From what I've read, it sounds like a mid-drive kit might not be the best idea with the hub, as it could put too much torque through it - is that right? Either way, I'd appreciate advice on a suitable kit that'll give me a decent extra range, and in particular help boost me through hillier terrain.

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
I have no experience with mid drive. There are many threads on here that deal with them. Chain line difficulties crop up alot, also reliability seems lower than other systems. If the motor has an internal controller this seems to be a weakness from an overheating point of view. Mid will put extra strain through the drive train leading to greater chain and sprocket wear. Whether the hub gear can take it....?
The forks on the bike are specced as alloys, so you will definately need torque brackets. The dropouts need to be inboard with 100mm clearance. I would fit a disc brake if possible.
Some will say that front hubs suffer from grip issues. It's true, on greasy, loose, steep climbs there can be some scrubbing, also on gravel paths under sudden accelaration. But, really, I've never found it to be a big issue and is actually quite enjoyable on millstone grit paths like the Tissington trail.
Hub motors tend to be fairly bullet proof, I have two. I've had to change two case bearings and one motor connector plug in a combined mileage of around 12k.