Lands End to John O,Groats

Pennybeth

Finding my (electric) wheels
Sep 1, 2015
Hi
As a complete newby to e biking (which I am really enjoying) I have read lots about members touring exploits which I find fascinating. However, apart from the recent charity ride by a young lady member posted here recently I can find little (sorry- nothing) about e bikers completing the LEJOG trip!
I have been a touring cyclist for many years and had always intended to complete the trip but age has now caught up with me and I am seriously considering doing it on my new electric mount.
The lack of information makes me wonder if there is a stigma attached to this trip re e bikes. "Thats cheating" or "thats easy and not really a challenge".
Certainly, from my own perspective I try to use my e bike to get as much mileage from the battery as possible so am usually in Eco mode with just the bigger hills on higher power settings. I dont therefor think it would be easy at all - just a bit easier than cycling.
Any thoughts please?
Pennybeth

Benjahmin

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 10, 2014
West Wales
My usual repost to the 'cheating' cry is along the lines of, 'When you're 62 and still riding the hills of west wales unassisted, call me the and we'll talk'. To even consider the six hundred and How much?! :eek: miles you're talking about, is way beyond my stamina considerations, even assisted. If you can and you want to, do it. Enjoy it and stuff the armchair, or otherwise, critics who would have you sit at home and vegetate. I've just returned from a 20 mile spin round some of my home turf, it's a glorious sunny day and I've seen some jaw dropping views at the expense of climbing a few hills that I would think twice about walking up. E biking is allowing many to extend their cycling life and even getting people into cycling (my wife for one). So a pox on the nay sayers and give them a cheery heloo as you sail past them on that thigh burning hill.

Pennybeth

Sep 1, 2015