Pedelecer
Jun 29, 2014
Warwickshire
Hi all,

I’m about to start an E-bike build. First some stats:-

I’m 84kg

My commute to work is 10.5 miles

The route has a couple of gentle hills

The bike will have 700c wheels with 28mm tyres. I’ll probably be using something like the Charge Grater 3.

For the build I’m thinking about using the following parts:-

Hub motor - Q100H

http://www.bmsbattery.com/front-driving/630-250w350w-q-85100sx-motor-e-bike-kit.html

I’ll be building the motor into a rim that I already have.

Battery, charger, controller and Display meter

http://www.bmsbattery.com/36v/567-bottle-ebike-battery-controller.html

Would I be better to use the S06P or S06S controller?

I assume that I also need a throttle, pedal assist sensor and brake sensor?

I’m new to all this so if anybody has any suggestions, fire away.

D

Deleted member 4366

Use the S06S controller. There's still questions over whether the Q100H works with a S06P.

I think I'd be inclined to use the bottle battery without a controller, and get the rectangular S06S mounted somewhere separately, which will give you the opportunity to adjust the current. It's very tight to get all the connectors in the bottle battery compartment and you have a lot of extra wire outside that looks untidy. It's not so bad if you're good at wiring and soldering. If you are good at soldering and wiring, you can get the small controller box from BMSB. Again, it's vert tight to get all the connectors and wires in, but if you wire the motor and battery wires directly to the controller pcb, you can get a very neat installation.