New to Electric Bikes

trailbear

Just Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Hi Folks

I am new to the electric pedal cycle world and would welcome some advice.
I generally cycle back and forward to work with a round trip of about 30 miles.
It's fine going to work, however, I am increasingly frustrated by the return journey which
is mostly uphill and almost always into the wind.

I would like something to just help make the journey a little easier.
I like to consider myself as reasonably fit but riding into the wind late at night after work is a bit of a struggle sometimes.

I have only tried a few electirc bikes and have been quite impressesd by the ones I have tried. ( Kalkhoff and a few of the BH e motion bikes including the neo cross and extreme )

I currrently ride a Cannondale Bad Boy, which is in pretty much brand new condition.
I would like to continue to ride/use the bike and have considered fitting a conversion kit which would have the added benefit of returning the bike to non assisted if need be.
I have briefly looked at the Cyclezee / Falco and Cyclotricity conversion kits.
Apparently the oxygen kit doesn't work with hydraulic brakes unfortunately.

I don't have much experience with either the bikes or the conversion kits and am now pretty confused.

It's difficult to test ride bikes, converted or not up here in Scotland as there aren't many dealers.
Obviously bikes are a personal choice but any advice would be helpful to a complete newbie.
I do have access to charging facilities at work so that wouldn't be a problem.

hech

Esteemed Pedelecer
Oct 29, 2011
argyll