New Wisper 905 SE Sport

Extra Cold

Finding my (electric) wheels
May 20, 2009
Firstly, Hi to everyone on here. :)

I'm fairly new to biking (in the commuting sense), having not ridden for a about 7 years.

I've had my new Wisper Sport for a couple of weeks now and have so far used it every day to work and back (a 25 mile round trip). So far, I have to say I love it. It's much better than my old hack and doesn't shake me to bits on bumpy roads like that did.

I am quite concerned though, that the battery is down to one light and not a lot of power after that sort of mileage. I expected it to last at least double that.

To be on the safe side, I only use the "High" mode pedal assistance (no throttle) to get to work, so I have enough juice to get back home again. The hills aren't that steep along the route and I generally average 15 miles per hour. On the last three miles home I've been using throttle only to give 100% power and got that grinding noise that I've also read about on here. Which I understand is down to low power on hills.

When I collected the bike from TETS in Cambridge, the battery was fully charged, run down, then fully charged again. I carried on this routine another couple of times to make sure the battery was ready to go. But the life of it hasn't improved. I did read on here that someone was getting over 40 miles using throttle, before needing a charge. Could I just be unlucky and have a faulty battery?
And is running it right down like this going to cause damage to it in the long term?

Thanks for any help.:confused:
Chris

Mussels

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 17, 2008
Crowborough
Which lights are you looking at, handlebar or battery? Are you looking at the lights when it is stationary and under no load?
The two week old 905 city I have uses about half a battery in 20 miles but that's with me pedalling fairly hard and the power on max the whole way.

Tim

Esteemed Pedelecer
Nov 1, 2006
London