Newbie, ello

Lee1st

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 26, 2018
Hi All. I'm pretty new to the e-bike scene having recently bought a Kalkhoff Agattu for my wife. Very pleased with that bike (from Rutland Cycling), so I've been on the look out for a Kalkhoff (or Riese & Muller) for myself. I would have looked at a well cared for 2nd hand but was lucky enough to spot a Kalkhoff Integrale 8 Belt Drive on Rutland's website as a returned item with 35% off. Checked it out and they assured me it had only light cosmetic damage. They sent photos through for me but I couldn't see any clear damage on them. I was sceptical, but being as they'd treated me well with the wife's bike I thought I'd give it a punt.
The bike was delivered late and so I started hearing alarm bells ringing, but once delivered, I've looked it over thoroughly and really can't find any damage on it at all! It's in black, so marks would show pretty easily. I even checked it against the photos where they were saying it was damaged and couldn't find anything. IMG_0141.JPG33 miles on the clock and everything seems perfect!
I'll post more when I know more.
All the very best,
Lee

Fat Rat

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 7, 2018
UK
Hi welcome
Seems a good buy
Happy peddling

Tarka

Pedelecer
Jan 29, 2019
That's a good looking steed. Enjoy all the hills magically becoming flat!

Lee1st

Dec 26, 2018
Little update.
Unfortunately, when I got the opportunity to ride the bike, it's clear that there's some sort of problem with the transmission. The pedal assist seems to want to cut in inappropriately giving a kind of "clicking" sensation. Does it at any speed and under any or no load. Really disappointed as the bike otherwise seems a cracker. Rutland cycling are asking me to try a couple of things: Clean the belt drive (I will, but it's pristine), Check the belt's not too tight (if anything it's slightly on the loose side), and do a factory reset of the settings (who knows, may do something to it but worth a shot).