Newbie - what e-bike to buy?

flyingjohn

Just Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Buckinghamshire
[SUB][/SUB]Hi All

I'm a 63 year old newbie. I'm 6'3" tall, overweight (230 pounds or 16+ stone) and not terribly fit. When I was younger and fitter I cycled a lot. I really want to break out of my sedentary lifestyle and would love to take up cycling again. I live in a very hilly area and forays on my (normal) bike in recent years have been a pathetic failure.

I have only just discovered the existence of e-bikes and it seems, a 'hub motor' with proper rear gears would suit me best. It also seems that the Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse looks perfect.

Is this a good choice for me? Are there any other suggestions I should be looking at? Finally, will I be able to see/try one at the NEC Cycle show in September?

Thanks.

:confused:

Alan Quay

Esteemed Pedelecer
Dec 4, 2012
Devon
Hi, welcome to the forum.

The first question is how hilly. Perhaps give us few examples of the gradients and distances.

Next question is how much range do you want/need.

What style of bike are you after, Mountain bikes are one of the most common.

What sort of budget?

At 6ft3 I guess you are at the upper end of height scale for most off the shelf bikes. It might be worth considering a conversion if you are a little bit handy with the tools, and especially if you already have a bike you are happy with.

You will find loads of helpful opinions on here that will enable you to make an informed decision.

johnc461165

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 19, 2011
WN6

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
[SUB][/SUB]It also seems that the Kalkhoff Agattu Impulse looks perfect.

Is this a good choice for me? Finally, will I be able to see/try one at the NEC Cycle show in September?

:confused:
Short answers are 'yes' and 'yes'.

The Agattu is a good quality ebike and I'm fairly sure the supplier - 50 Cycles - is at the show, but best to ask them.