Oldman here

oldman

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 16, 2013
Glyn Ceiriog N Wales
I'm new to E bikes. Up until August this year (2013) I was a fit road cyclist when a swelling appeared on my left knee; to cut the story short it turned out to be a very rare cancer for which I have had a major operation to remove the whole knee and the large quad muscle.
I now require help to choose an Ebike; depending on mobility of the knee that has been fitted with an "hinge" to enable rotation.
I have been through a lot of websites looking and found a few that tempt me but don't know enough about the equipment batteries power, out put etc. I think I may need throttle assist as well as pedal assist and the bike has to look like a bike; no Dutch type "step thrus ". I have ticked the BH e Motion Neo Race; Giant Roam (no throttle).
I'm 78yrs was fit enough to ride the Alps etc every holiday (8 weeks in France).
So I need your help

D

Deleted member 4366

I think you need a bike that uses speed control rather than torque control. The speed control bikes will give power regardless of how hard you pedal. The power is adjustable via a panel on the handlebars. The torque control bikes multiply your pedal power, so you can't pedal lightly on a hill. I think I'm right in saying that all bikes with throttles use speed control, which makes things easy for you.

BH Emotion don't seem very good with support, so I can't recommend them like I used to. It wouldn't be so bad if they were reliable, but there's been a few problems reported.

oldman

Dec 16, 2013
Glyn Ceiriog N Wales
Thanks all
At present I have a brace from thigh to ankle; without it I will fall over, but due for physio and rehab in January after which I will be fitted with a more versatile brace. I can bend the knee to approx 60 degrees but will need nearer 90 before I can turn pedals (physio will help). Haven't put my leg over a bike since August.