Remaining battery capacity - from volts or display?

DynatechFan

Pedelecer
Oct 20, 2017
t'North
I am still learning my way with my ebay sourced kit, it came with the very common KT LCD3 display so I am hoping this is an answerable and useful (to others) thread - basically my question is about gauging how much power is left

The Shimano Steps set up I used to use gave me a fairly precise % and miles remaining, whereas LCD3 only offers about 5 levels of battery (see below), ie full, 3/4, 1/2, 1/4 and panic! It also allows you to see battery voltage, which might be more useful. It shows 41.2V for my battery freshly charged

Can anyone advise, what % levels do the various full, 3/4 etc come on at? My commute ends just as the display drops to 1/2 - but is that really 50%?

Alternatively, in a 36V system what battery voltages correlate with 100%, 75% 50% 25%? Or isnt it that simple?

malkie0831

Pedelecer
Aug 19, 2016
GB
There are several curves and tables on the web that show the voltage of Lipo’s vs the state of charge. Most are related to RC packs rather than 18650 cells, though if you know the manufacturer of the cells in your pack you should be able to see a data sheet for them.
Here is a typical chart, use the 1S column and multiply by the number of series cells in your pack.
27900505-AC2F-4F93-BEDE-6A60D99CEF21.png
For a 36v (or 10S) pack,
75% is about 39.8v,
50% is about 38.4v
25% is about 37.5v.
Much “expert” opinion on this topic says for longevity keep the pack between 20% and 95% charge levels.
An added complication concerns the accuracy of the voltmeter reading in your display. It will only be roughly calibrated, and may not see the full battery voltage due to the cables and other components between the display and the battery.

DynatechFan

Pedelecer
Oct 20, 2017
t'North
outstanding, thanks for that makie0831. The battery seller claims Samsung 18650 LiNiCoMnO2 cells so I can go look for that