Sunstar SO3 opinions

climo

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 8, 2018
I may have used top gear (48:11) 3 or 4 times since I got the trike... On the flat and slight downhills I spend most of my time in 48:15 at about 40 km/h. Last season on my flat 27 km training route I got fit enough for about 32 km/h average. That is me and an "empty" trike, just the two small paniers with my gear.

Now I need a motor to get out of the house! First incline is there just in front of me as I type and over 13%, with cold muscles... :eek: 15% on the way home o_O Unrestricted the motor will provide 50 km/h cruising speed on the flat :cool:
I'm seriously impressed at your speeds. 26" trikes are faster than 20" and your Azub is lighter than my HP Velotechnik but that's still very impressive. Sounds like, with a motor, you should get a 60t

climo

Dec 8, 2018
I know that 48v is more powerful than 36v, though no idea why (I'm no electrician). What effect does that have on the battery range - does it do less miles for a given Ah battery?
How many hours does a battery take to charge?

sjpt

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 8, 2018
Winchester
The energy in a battery is measured in watt hours (wh), which are a multiple of volts (v) and amp house (Ah). So a 48v 10Ah battery is 480wh, and a 36v 10Ah battery just 360wh. Some battery makers (eg Bosch) mark wh as their main published measure.

So if you use the same effective power a 48v battery will give more miles than a 36v one of same aH, pretty much in proportion 48/36 or 4/3, or extra 33%. If you take advantage of the 48v to squeeze maximum power from the motor you will get through the available energy quicker. You will probably still get more miles from the 48v, but not as much as 33% more.

• Agree
Reactions: anotherkiwi

climo

Dec 8, 2018