Too much power for 250w motor?

Kiblams

Finding my (electric) wheels
Jul 18, 2019
Hi guys,

I'm new to electric bikes and after doing a moderate amount of research (only the tip of the ice berg it seems) I bought myself a Dillenger 250w road legal front wheel kit.

To say I am happy with it is an understatement! The kit went on the bike without any issues and I was test riding within 30 minutes (no wire management etc)

I am really surprised at how powerful the motor is and it can drag my 250lbs weight up some pretty harsh hills with minimal input at 10mph and on flats it outpaces my pedalling and levels out at 18mph mid battery level and 22mph at full charge. (It also happens to be unlimited out of the box)

My query is this; because I was so surprised by the performance I did a little research and checked out the stats. As I see it, the battery is putting out 36V and the controller is 15A, so is it actually putting 540w through the motor when set to full assist/full throttle?

I have checked the motor and controller temps after some big hill climbs and everything feels cool to the touch so I'm not massively concerned, but just wondered if I was wildly mistaken.

Cheers!

P.S. not sure why but my posts on here seem to be going missing so please excuse if I've posted this more than once.

pn_day

Pedelecer
Jul 26, 2013
St Andrews, Fife
I'm sure you'll get a fuller answer from somebody more knowledgeable, but here's my tuppence worth...

The EU spec of 250W is a bit confusing - it is a 'nominal' value. In practice you are perfectly correct - the combination of battery and controller often mean that a '250W' system might actually be peaking well above this.

In your case, you might well find that the 36V battery is closer to 42V fresh of the charger, so you max power may be closer to ~630W.

Don't worry about it - most other '250W' systems will be doing something similar.