Voilamart hub motor not driving

mikeflute

Finding my (electric) wheels
Apr 1, 2021
Hello
I am new to ebikes and this forum, I have just built my own ebike with a Voilamart kit from eBay the bike has been fantastic done about a hundred miles, but came to ride it today and I can hear the front hub motor spinning and responding to the throttle but not driving the wheel . I have sent a message to the supplier and am waiting for a response, has anyone else had the same problem? I had presumed that Voilamart was an ok brand.
Mike

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
Lift the wheel off the ground to see if the motor turns it forward or backwards. If forwards, your clutch is stuck and probably needs to be replaced. If backwards, there's an electrical solution that depends on which controller you have.

mikeflute

Apr 1, 2021
when I lift the wheel of the ground I can hear the motor spinning and responding to the throttle but not turning the wheel at all in any direction even with a little bit of help.

vfr400

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jun 12, 2011
Basildon
That's weird. There's always some friction that turns the wheel, whether it's the woodruff key, clutch or gears that are faulty. Is the motor making the normal whirring sound?

The only way that could happen is that something like a screw came loose inside, jammed the gears and broke the woodruff key, but I've never heard of anything like that happening. How did it start? Was there a bang or did it happen overnight after your neighbour crept into your garage, dismantled the motor, removed the clutch and put it all back together as an April Fool's joke?

Show us which motor you have.

Last edited:

mikeflute

Apr 1, 2021
The motor is making all the normal sounds when responding to the throttle. it was working absolutely fine then the next day nothing. so very strange. I will ask my neighbour about the April fools joke.

this is a link to the eBay site