Volt range of e-bikes.

D

Deleted member 4366

They're basically good quality Chinese bikes. If that's the sort of thing you want, they're perfect, but don't come on here later and ask how to derestrict them. If you want speed, there's better bikes.

TedG

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 8, 2017
Lisburn Co Antrim Northern Ireland UK
I have only been using various electric bikes for fifteen years so I am a bit of a novice compared to you guys, I was just interested in any Volt bike owners and what their experiences were.

I have found a thread but it isn't a new one and there have been several model additions since then.

As for speed I have done all that over 35 years on motorbikes right up to 170mph superbikes so speed or derestriction wasn't high on my list.
Not sure I even mentioned speed.

If in the unlikely event I decided on derestriction I would obviously not "come on here" for advice, I would fall back on my experience learnt over half a lifetime in auto engineering and indeed my colleagues in electronics during that time.

At 67 now with a bucket full of health issues I am not interested in competition, I am still after an easy life with a bit of necessary assistance on an e-bike and was interested in Volt owner's comments to compare with our own opinions on these excellent bikes over the last two years.

Many thanks for your response anyhow.

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 4366

If in the unlikely event I decided on derestriction I would obviously not "come on here" for advice, I would fall back on my experience learnt over half a lifetime in auto engineering and indeed my colleagues in electronics during that time.
I think you misunderstand me. What I meant was that it's probably not easy or maybe impossible to derestrict a Volt bike. If that were important to you, it would be better to look elsewhere.