Which Hubs and transmissions are best?

Intex

Pedelecer
Aug 17, 2008
For an ebike that may be used in hilly terrain, which is the best gear setup: Regullar Derraileur with 3 gears up front and 8 in back, or the newer Nexus 7 speed enclosed hub with planetary gears?

Also while on the subject, is there any performance advantages uses a solid drive shaft, like in the Schwinn, as opposed to the chain drive ?

Thank you, I am still learning

flecc

Oct 25, 2006
Both gear setups are good. Hub gears aren't new but were in fact the original gears for bikes, derailleurs invented years later. Both types of gear are suitable for hilly areas.

The hub gear has the advantages of being enclosed and needing almost no maintenance, and being able to change gear at a standstill. It has the disadvantages of slower gearchanging and a lower efficiency.

Derailleur gears have the advantage of higher efficiency and quicker gear changing. They have the disadvantages of needing much more maintenance and not being able to change gear at a standstill. Electric assist bikes generally do not need lots of gears, and having 3 front chainrings and 8 sprockets at the back is completely unnecessary, most derailleur equipped e-bikes having a single front chainring.

In general, hub gears are most suitable for utility bikes that work for a living in commuting, shopping etc.

Deraileur gears are best on sports bikes, and they were invented for those.

However, many people use them differently according to personal preferences.

There are no performance advantages of shaft drive as I've already answered on your other thread. They are much less efficient than chain drive, just easier to keep clean.

jonouk

Just Joined
Aug 20, 2008
EAD systems