Why the e-bike boom is raising fire fears - BBC Article

guerney

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 7, 2021
"Aviva reports that 71% of adults surveyed in the UK didn't know the signs that a lithium-ion battery, the type found in e-bikes and e-scooters, is on the verge of failure. These warning signs include heating, leaking, swelling, and unusual smells and noises."

Before covid, my sense of smell was very good - my battery has always stunk a little bit, but I've been using it for three years without flames.

Perhaps battery manufacturers should build in smelloalarms , as well as temperature activated and cell cracking noise detection alarms? Other enterprising companies could make retrofit kits of the same? Perhaps small animals or AIs could be trained to recognise these warning signs? "What's that, Ratty? My battery is about to explode?!?!? Thanks, have a peanut."

Last edited:

Nealh

Esteemed Pedelecer
Aug 7, 2014
West Sx RH
Ebike fires are down to mainly educating people who know little about lithium battery and the charging process . For years the domain of this forum was all about diy with some early oem bikes , one never saw any reports of fires or battery safty issues because the users were knowledgable as were the forum users then.
Now we see the market opening up with all manner of dodgy fast food motorbikes , e-scooters and the public in general being seduced by bosh type bikes etc,etc.
The issue is thye are pretty thick and simply don't understand the dangers of over charging or inappropriate charging techniques. We see it on here quite a few think it is safe to fast charge or only part charge a battery cutting out any benefit of the BMS functions.
The worst bunch of the lot are the high power diy , fast food bike conversions and the e-scooter users .