Wisper 905se or Momentum upstart

SamiT

Finding my (electric) wheels
Dec 13, 2016
Leeds
Hi all, I'm pretty new to the electric bike game, but I am interested in buying an ebike to make my commute a little more civilised. I have an 18mile return journey over mostly canal tow path but also some reasonably big hills (West Yorkshire). I've a budget of £1000 and I've narrowed the search to the bikes in the title of the thread. I'm about 73kg and reasonably active.
I like the simplicity of the upstart and it looks a bit more sporty but I am concerned about its performance on hills being restricted as it is in its gearing. I really like the look of the Wisper. But does anyone have any experience with the two latest editions of the bikes.
Many thanks,
S

Gaz

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 14, 2016
Eastbourne
When you say latest editions, I've ridden a demo 905se back in the summer, but then I rode a 905 Torque the same day and the difference was quite stark. Appreciated you're on a budget, but IMHO it'd be worth holding out or looking at a cycle to work scheme or finance to go the extra.

It's personal choice, but I'd choose the 905 over the Upstart as the better all rounder.

Gaz

Reactions: Wisper Bikes

Emo Rider

Esteemed Pedelecer
Jan 10, 2014
Holy apples and oranges Batman! Two very different bikes indeed. Just to get this out of the way, a test ride of both is necessary before you buy. Moving on, I like both for different reasons but for the distance you are going to be traveling, I would scrape up two hundred more pounds and go for the Wisper and the large battery. The momentun is not upgradable.

Another consideration is comfort. The Wisper is more comfortable, IMO, as it has larger tyres and a more upright riding position. The Upstart has a very rigid frame and narrow hard (90psi) tyres. But that might be your preferance.