Woosh Big Bear Chainring.

garyten

Pedelecer
Jul 13, 2014
Im new to bike's and pedelec's, having been on motorcycle's for 30 years, so i need a bit of advice please.

I recently bought a Big Bear, and i noticed that it tops out (i cant pedal any faster) at about 21 mph in 7th (top) gear. I would like perhaps another 2 or 3 mph, for the downhill bits.

I then remember reading here, that i may be able to change the Chainring to something larger, so here is the problem.

The standard chainring is a 5 bolt 44 tooth, so i decided to try and find a alternative, so i begin with a E mail to Woosh, and they replied saying that " You can install any chainset and gearset you like. They are Shimano standard".

I dont know what Shimano standard is, so i measured the BCD with my vernier caliper, and i end up with 49 mm. Using Sheldon Browns excellent website im translating to a BCD of almost 84, which appears nonsense.

Short of taking the Chainring of the bike, and going to a shop, im calling on you nice lot, if you know what Chainring is fitted to the Woosh Big Bear, or can you tell me how to find out, as im at a loss, despite my motorcycle engineering knowledge, the Cycle industry is a whole new learning curve.

Thanks for any advise.

JohnCade

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 16, 2014
trex this place you're linking to is in the US. I'm out of touch with bike stuff nowadays so where's the best value place to buy parts online now?

trex

Esteemed Pedelecer
May 15, 2011
cyclezee may have 11T DNP freewheels. Your bike has 8-speed 11-32 cassette like mine, last time I paid £10, from ChainReactionCycle. I buy bike parts from CRC, tools from amazon, the rest from ebay.

RobF

Esteemed Pedelecer
Sep 22, 2012
Does the big cog on the new cassette have the same number of teeth?

If not, you will also get a higher first gear, which may, or may not, be a problem for you.

garyten

Pedelecer
Jul 13, 2014